Skid Shelf

I knew I wanted a distressed and rustic-looking shelf for our foyer.  Good news is everyone was selling them! Bad news is Restoration Hardware wasn’t exactly in our budget.

I turned to the only place I knew would have a solution.  Pinterest.

I found tons of easy do-it-yourself shelves made from skids!  I immediately wanted to try this project.  I was desperate to have a rustic-looking shelf, but wasn’t going to give up just because we couldn’t afford it.  The next day my fiancé came home with a skid and started to pry it apart.  I took over once the hard part was done and started sanding and staining it.  I stained it a few times to give it that rich walnut colour and fastened the two planks together.  Lastly, I attached inexpensive black metal brackets from IKEA and lo and behold our shelf was complete!

         

2 thoughts on “Skid Shelf

Leave a Reply

