Simple Yet Sophisticated Entryway {Using Free PARA Paint: Must Read}

 

IMG_4941A few months ago I wrote about my white and very boring entryway in a post titled To Paint or to Wallpaper.  I played around with the idea of using a single solid paint colour throughout or trying out a metallic-type wallpaper.

After several months (I never said I was a quick decision maker) and already utilizing metallic wallpaper in our Clean and Crisp Laundry Room I knew I wanted a solid colour throughout.

During this time I had also entered a FreebieFriday contest with PARA Paints on Facebook.  Contestants had to answer a simple question regarding decorating/painting and the best answer would win.  Sounds simple!

Well I was ecstatic to learn that I had won! Not only because I rarely ever win anything but because I had finally decided to paint this boring space and now I was going to get the chance to try out PARA Paints–a product I’ve heard so much about.  And yes little things in life get me excited and winning a gallon of paint is definitely one of them.

I went to my local PARA Paints dealer and knew exactly the colour I wanted.  Call me a cop out but I wanted them to replicate Revere Pewter by BM.  I wasn’t taking any chances choosing the wrong colour for our entryway and this colour is described as the “best paint colour ever” by Pinterest users.

So how did I like it?  This paint was amazing to work with.  A gallon went a long way with this product–I covered our entire entryway, the walls up the stairs and the hallway/landing on the second floor with two coats!

The colour is perfect too.  It goes extremely well with white trim, baseboards and doors and looks so sophisticated and calming with our hardwood stairs in graphite.  I am so pleased.

Before:  Yellowish and drabIMG_3387IMG_5522After: Colour more subdued and sophisticated.

We already had the rug, wood bench and a few other decor pieces in this space, but we were missing something on the wall above the bench.

After careful consideration (and probably more time spent than necessary) I decided to make this my fiancé’s “gallery wall.”  He has challenged himself by taking a picture a day for 365 days, which you could check out here.  So I thought what a great idea to get some of his pictures printed and displayed.

IMG_5472

IMG_4937  IMG_5461

Other than printing and hanging a few more pictures along the way, I am happy to say that this space is done!

Let me know what you think! And please feel free to leave a comment, advice or suggestion.

And I urge everyone to check out the PARA Paints page on Facebook for their FreebieFriday contest and painting techniques.  There’s so much to learn!

4 thoughts on “Simple Yet Sophisticated Entryway {Using Free PARA Paint: Must Read}

  1. katieedwardsis says:

    The colour is gorgeous, and I love the gallery wall! I think it’s great to have such special photos in a really prominent place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

